“You shall not pass!” said the Universe

Sit around kids and I will tell you a story of how when one thing goes wrong the universe usually piles it up and everything goes wrong. So on this lovely day, everything was going fine at first. The exam period came so I had no classes scheduled for today, there was just this one credit test I had to attend. I wasn’t worried or anything, I knew it would be pretty easy and without classes, I could sleep in and had also plenty time to study what I needed to refresh. I live on the outskirts of this town so I have to take a bus and change to tram and then to another one in order to get to school. I planned to arrive there half an hour before the test.
Because I had plenty of time before I had to go, I decided to be a bit fancy today and did a whole face make-up routine and a French plait. According to my phone it was 19 degrees Celsius outside so I decided to just wear a band T-shirt, ripped jeans and because the universe was obviously laughing in my face I chose to wear just a flannel shirt instead of a leather jacket and (I’m not even sure myself why) flats.
My bus, as expected, came late. But I was counting on that so it was ok. What wasn’t ok was, that the first tram all of a sudden stopped right as it started pouring down outside. After a few minutes, the tram driver announced that there has been a car accident and that he doesn’t know how long will it take till we move again. At that point, I would have been just on time if the tram moved, which it didn’t and the driver didn’t want to let us out so we wouldn’t get run over by some car. Eventually, to my luck, he did let us out, so I jumped out into the rain, I took off my shirt and used it to shield myself from the rain and went on foot to my school. I arrived ten minutes late, drenched to the bone, looking completely wild as my hair fell out of the plait and my flats felt like a pool. I wasn’t allowed to write the test. Fortunately, my teacher is very reasonable and understood that is wasn’t my fault that I came late, so I had to wait an hour (a very comfortable hour I must add – like daaamn wet jeans are so itchy!) until I could write the test with a different group.
It was a very interesting experience, but if you think that next time I’ll try to come even earlier you must be nuts. You won’t get me so easily universe!

Leave a Reply

